Lee Hewes

is totes becoming a teacher…

Reading groups in a technology rich environment.

4 Comments

One of my PDP goals for this year is to improve my pedagogy around reading in my classroom, I guess this blog post will serve as evidence of my progress toward reaching this goal.

A little over a week ago I attended a NSW Teachers Federation Centre for Professional Learning course entitled ‘Teaching Reading and Writing K-6’. I’d like to document some of what I took from the course and how I’ve implemented it in my classroom to hopefully improve my practice and benefit my students.

Whilst at the course I was introduced to an activity aimed at having students demonstrate not only their comprehension of the texts they’ve been reading, but also discuss and share how and what they have been thinking whilst reading those texts. The activity is called ‘See, Think, Wonder’ and it is set out as follows.

1. Back to back: Ask students to choose an appropriate book and sit back-to-back with a member of their reading group whilst they each independently read either the whole book, or a section of the book.

2. Knee to knee: After students have read for around 10 – 15 minutes, ask them to sit knee-to-knee with their partner to discuss certain aspects of the book. To frame the conversation, students are directed to ask and answer the following questions.

When you read the book, what did you see?

When you read the book, what did you (or what did the book make you) think?

When you read the book, what did you (or what did the book make you) wonder?

3. Students need to document their answers to these questions in some way.

Now when I heard about this activity at the meeting and thought about it awhile, for some reason it resonated with me as something that I would like to implement in my classroom, and I’m so very glad that I did.

I’m lucky enough to have 1 to 1 XO laptops for the kids in my class, so I’d like to describe how this activity, coupled with the XO devices and other forms of technology has allowed me to effectively differentiate my reading groups and allow me to see how my students are thinking about their reading.

When I came back from being away for the aforementioned day of PD, I wanted to check that my students had read whilst I was away. I asked the group that I would have been reading with what they had read and was pleased to find that my students were able to tell me what they had been reading while I was away. One of my students told me that he had read the level 10 reader ‘The Silver Egg’ and was able to retell certain parts of the story.

Not only did this give me enough confidence that I could pick up my reading program as if I had never been away, it also satisfied me enough that I could introduce ‘See, Think, Wonder’ with the class so that they could document their thinking on the XOs. The following day, I modelled the process using Google slides, you can see the jointly constructed example on the presentation below. I used The Silver Egg as an example due to the class discussion we’d had involving that book the previous day.

After modelling the See, Think, Wonder process on the IWB, I explained the back-to-back, knee-to-knee activity and asked students in my more independent reading groups (The Grapes, Oranges and Blackberries) to complete back-to-back, knee-to-knee followed by See, Think, Wonder. I think the results are pretty cool and am very happy with how well my class have taken to it. See the student examples below.

The Three Little Pigs

Snake’s Sore Head

Some of my students have taken to the activity so well, that to extend them, I have asked them to blog about the activity. I asked one of them the other day to write to me as if I was someone who asked them what they do at school during reading. I asked her to explain the See, Think, Wonder activity to someone who didn’t know about it. Her draft post is below:

At school I bean thinking about our reading and I am in the Oranges.
Im in 1l I would like to show you what I have doing in class.
I have bean doing see think and wonder.
I writed about the three little pigs and my Other frend is writing about the three little Mice in trouble.
thire was a wolf and three little pigs and the wolf blowd two houses down and 1 did’nt blow down.

For the less independent groups, I have also started trialling some Android apps on the XOs for the days when I am reading with other groups. Some that I have tried in recent weeks are Phonics Awareness, Droid Spell Kids, Dolch Sight Words iStoryBooks.  They also like using the app Andy’s World which comes installed on the XO Android-2 update.

So what does reading groups look like in my technology rich environment?

I’ve posted some photos below, but let me just finish by providing you with an example from my classroom. At the moment we are making a video for a class at another school, so during reading groups I had one group writing transition slides for our video using my Macbook Pro, another groups searching Jamendo for royalty free music to add to our video using the IWB. I was sitting and reading with one group whilst others were using the XOs for blogging, Google Slides and learning new words using their newly installed Android apps.

So to answer the question above – you might see kids dancing to royalty free music in front of the IWB, you might see kids typing away on a laptop or XO, you might see kids being read stories out loud from their devices or writing out new words they have learned from their XO. I like to think that for the most part they are engaged and learning, and I hope that these examples support what I think.

The learning journey continues…

IMG_8883 IMG_8884 IMG_8886 IMG_8947 IMG_8952IMG_8968 IMG_8969 IMG_8970 IMG_8985 IMG_8987 IMG_8988IMG_8983

4 thoughts on “Reading groups in a technology rich environment.

  1. Hi Lee, I love how you have integrated your new learning into your teaching practice. Having the record of their responses is a great way of monitoring their progress in reading comprehension as well as writing ability. I am so impressed that some of them went on to blog about it.

  2. Hi Lee,
    A Twitter post has lead me to your blog – and I’m so glad it did! Such an interesting, informative post to inspire reading groups. I teach prep and am always trying to find different ways to engage them in worthwhile reading activities. I’m looking forward to trying this activity with a group tomorrow – I can see lots of potential to encourage them to do more than just ‘read’!!

    Thanks for taking the time to share your ideas!!!
    Karyn

  3. Great post Lee!
    We practice the Daily 5/Literacy CAFE approach in my Year 2 classroom, which definitely lends itself to the types of things you are talking about in your class.
    I’ve been looking for some new, fresh ideas – thanks for sharing and igniting a spark in my brain!

    Fiona

  4. Hi Lee,
    I love the way you have integrated tech meaningfully into your reading groups. As part of the literacy focus now embedded in high schools we also have reading time in years 7-9 and the use of technology might be a way to get these older students engaged.
    Thanks for the food for thought!

Leave a Reply

