Lee Hewes

is totes becoming a teacher…

My class totes has a theme song!

Leave a comment

I love singing with my class. One of the first things I did with them was establish a call and response chant that we regularly sing on the way back to class from recess. I go down to the COLA, get them all lined up, choose a couple of kids to carry the lunchbox tubs and it goes like this.

Me: “We are going back to class.”
Class: repeat
Me: “We will get there really fast.”
Class: repeat
Me: “1, 2…”
Class: repeat
Me: “3, 4!”
Class: repeat

When it’s time to sit down for fruit break/news time we all sit in a circle and get ready for the speaker to speak. Before we do so, we all put our hands on our knees and chant “Ooooh Aaaah Ma Neee” in unison. It’s ridiculous, I know, and based on something silly Ross Noble said during a live performance I once saw on DVD, but the students think it’s hilarious and a fun daily ritual.

I’m often putting a rhythmic or melodic spin on some of the things I say and the kids usually laugh and repeat this when I do. Wherever possible, I like to include music in some way into our whatever we’re doing. One of the greatest @K1MEPS this term has been this phonics song for the letter c.

It was delightful to see the sense of humour one of my students come out as he let out an uncontrollable giggle at the idea of a cat with a cap riding a cow to California and back, hilarious! Whenever I played the song he would say, “I think it’s funny.” When the song asked, “What do you think about that?”

Anyway, with the kids responding so well to music, I thought it would be a cool idea to have a class theme song. So on Saturday night I sat down and wrote a simple chorus that we can add more stuff to later.

You can see the chords and lyrics below.

Screen Shot 2014-03-29 at 6.30.25 pm

We practised it today and the students responded really well. We had our first go with the song to start the day, another run through just after recess and a final run through just before the end of the day. By the time we were ready to go home we even had a chance to give a little performance to a couple of teachers who happened to be walking by. Most of the kids have the timing sorted and, of course we’ll need to try to get everyone in tune, but for our first song I think it’s sounding awesome!

I gave the students some ideas about what they could include in their verse lyrics, but I think these may take a while to get into song. Especially as the kids will have to do these solo and that can be quite nerve-wracking, especially when you’re only 5 or 6!

I’m really happy with it though, stoked my class has a theme song and can’t wait to get them singing it to some of the other classes in the school!

Leave a Reply

